The American Conservative Union Announces Second Annual Ratings Of The California State Legislature - Brian W. Jones

The American Conservative Union Announces Second Annual Ratings Of The California State Legislature

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The American Conservative Union (ACU) today announced its second annual ACU Ratings of the California State Legislature, honoring the Golden State’s true conservatives. The nation’s...

oldest and largest grassroots conservative organization began a new initiative to expand the highly touted ACU Congressional Ratings program to state legislatures, grading members on their votes on key conservative issues. The California 2013 State Legislative Ratings guide is now available online at

“On behalf of the American Conservative Union, I am pleased to announce the winners of our 2013 State Legislative Ratings for members of the California State Legislature,” said ACU Chairman Al Cardenas. “For 42 years, ACU has set the gold standard for Congressional ratings, and we are now able to offer that same level of transparent information to the voters of California so they can hold their elected officials accountable at the state level as well. In our second year rating the Golden State, we applaud conservatives in the California State Legislature who continue to fight for Second Amendment rights, lower taxes and increased domestic energy production.”

In 2011, the American Conservative Union launched a new initiative to bring its annual Ratings of Congress – considered the gold standard of conservative voter education guides – to the state level, issuing inaugural ratings of state legislators in five battleground states: Florida, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio and Virginia. Last year, ACU graded state legislators in 15 critical states and this year they are expanding their ratings to 20 states.

The ACU Ratings of the California State Legislature will include scores for each individual member in both the State Senate and Assembly, a description of the votes scored and lists of members receiving special recognition as “Defenders of Liberty,” “ACU Conservatives,” or “True Liberals of the Golden State.”

The ACU tracks a wide range of issues before state legislatures to determine which issues and votes serve as a clear litmus test separating those representatives who defend liberty and liberal members who have turned their backs on our founding principles – constitutionally limited government, individual liberty, free markets, and traditional values. The votes selected for California 2013 State Legislative Ratings were chosen to create a clear ideological distinction among those casting them.

The “ACU Defenders of Liberty Award” goes to those members of the California State Legislature who scored 100 percent on the ACU California 2013 State Legislative Ratings. In the State Senate, the recipient is Mark Wyland.  In the Assembly:  Tim Donnelly, Curt Hagman and Diane Harkey.
The winners of the “ACU Conservative” award – given to those members who scored 80 percent or higher – in the Senate are: Joel Anderson, Tom Berryhill, Bill Emmerson, Jean Fuller, Ted Gaines, Bob Huff, Steve Knight, Jim Nielsen, Andy Vidak and Mimi Walters.  In the Assembly: Travis Allen, Frank Bigelow, Rocky Chavez, Connie Conway, Brian Dahle, Beth Gaines, Jeff Gorell, Shannon Grove, Brian Jones, Eric Linder, Dan Logue, Brian Maienschein, Allan Mansoor, Melissa Melendez, Mike Morrell, Brian Nestande, Kristin Olsen, Jim Patterson, Donald Wagner, Marie Waldron and Scott Wilk.
The members who scored an atrocious “zero” on the ratings, earning “True Liberals of the Golden State” awards, are – in the Senate: Jim Beall, Marty Block, Ron Calderon, Ellen Corbett, Kevin De Leon, Mark DeSaulnier, Jerry Hill, Ben Hueso, Noreen Evans, Loni Hancock, Ed Hernandez, Hannah-Beth Jackson, Ricardo Lara, Mark Leno, Ted Lieu, Carol Liu, Bill Monning, Alex Padilla, Fran Pavley, Darrell Steinberg, Norma Torres, Lois Wolk and Leland Yee.  In the Assembly: Luis Alejo, Toni Atkins, Richard Bloom, Bob Blumenfield, Raul Bocanegra, Susan Bonilla, Rob Bonta, Steven Bradford, Joan Buchanan, Ian Calderon, Nora Campos, Ed Chau, Wesley Chesbro, Roger Dickinson, Susan Eggman, Paul Fong, Cristina Garcia, Jimmy Gomez, Richard Gordon, Isadore Hall, Roger Hernandez, Reginald Jones-Sawyer, Marc Levine, Bonnie Lowenthal, Holly Mitchell, Kevin Mullin, Adrin Nazarian, Richard Pan, Henry Perea, John Perez, V. Manuel Perez, Bill Quirk, Anthony Rendon, Nancy Skinner, Mark Stone, Philip Ting, Shirley Weber, Bob Wieckowski and Das Williams.

For more information on the American Conservative Union or to download the full California 2013 State Legislative Ratings Guide, please click here or visit our website at

Founded in 1964, the ACU represents the views of Americans who are concerned with economic growth through lower taxes and reduced government spending and the issues of liberty, personal responsibility, traditional values and national security. ACU first began rating members of Congress on key conservative voting issues in 1971, and since then their ratings system has become the most important conservative measuring stick in American politics.